The panel was asked a series of questions, and then over four rounds were left to debate each other’s answers. The process operated under the Chatham House rule – no statements were or will be attributed to the participants.

Panel Outputs

Over four rounds we boiled the discussion down to a series of statements for which the scientists displayed either unanimous or majority support. A summary of each round and the final statements are each available for download below

The 21 Agreed Scientist Statements – My River by garethmorgannz on Scribd


The members of our panel were:

Dr Bob Wilcock— NIWA
Dr Roger Young – Cawthron Institute
Dr Rick Pridmore – Dairy NZ
Dr Mike Joy, Massey University
Dr Phil Mladenov – Fertiliser Manufacturers Association
Dr Alison Dewes – Agricultural consultant
Graham Sevicke-Jones – Greater Wellington Regional Council
Professor Jon Harding – University of Canterbury
Professor David Hamilton – University of Waikato
Dr Marc Schallenburg – University of Otago
Dr Rich McDowell – Agresearch
Shirley Hayward – Dairy NZ
Dr Clive Howard-Williams – NIWA
Professor Gillian Lewis, Auckland University
Ken Taylor – Environment Canterbury
Dr Mike Scarsbrook – Dairy NZ

Panel, Process and Outputs was last modified: August 29th, 2016 by Gareth Morgan